We are Nature

 

 

Today my heart held itself apart

Watching the wildness catch the breeze,

Urgent in the blue breathing,

The haze infusing, sedating,

The bees echoing through the flowers

Into the pulse in its fever.

 

Today my heart held itself apart

Sniffing the air for scents of truth

Floating in the soft shimmer

Of shadows, sighing and drifting,

While birds, busy with domestics

Strive for the song of a future.

 

Today my heart held itself apart

Dreaming of something out of reach

Singing in the far furlongs

Of oceans, spinning and dancing

To be, one with the currents

Drowned in the flow of adventure.

 

Today my heart held itself apart

Fondling fantasies, lying low

Feigning to myself voices

Of purpose, impassioned and stirring,

As I, deep in denial,

Hide from the realm of the living.

2 thoughts on “We are Nature

  1. I like the repetition here. It can sometimes be too insistent but here it seems to belong perfectly. There’s a quality of incantation in the lines I think and the repetition is a part of that.

    Like

  2. Your feedback is really helpful – I’m always rather shy about doing things that are too overtly ‘poetic’. As you say, they can easily misfire – the important thing is to believe what you are saying with emotion as well as with the intellect?

    Like

Leave a Reply

