A light bulb moment

“Harry!”

“What?”

“Did you know that I will have to curtsey every time I meet your Gran?”

“That’s the way things work here.”

“Will I be able to do it ironically?”

“No. You’re American.”

…………………….

“Do I get for people to curtsey to me?”

“No. You’re American.”

“It’s weird. I thought being royal was a job you did when people were watching you. Now it turns out, being royal is an identity………..unless you’re American.”

“Yeah – it’s like the laying on of hands for bishops.”

…………………………..

“Harry!”

“There’s more?”

“Well, I wondered what the job is. Is it being nice?”

“What do you mean?”

“If Kate and Will are royal at all times, in work and not in work so that being royal isn’t the job, I thought that since they go all nice when they are working, that must be what the job is?”

“Aren’t they nice when they are not working?”

“Depends where you’re sitting…..”

…………………………….

“Harry! This mental health thing; it only seems to be ok to respect the mentally ill for speaking out when they are ‘nicely’ ill and a bit sad. I don’t seem to be heroically sad enough to be mentally ill. I must not have understood the job properly………”

Leave a comment