Fact

“There is no scientific proof

that wearing a mask

will protect you from a virus.”

There stands the placard defending

a strange idea

as hospital beds are filled.

‘There is no scientific proof

that refusing masks

will protect the brain’s functioning.’

No placard here; may be some truths

are simply too dull

to receive the world’s attention.

There is some scientific proof

that wearing a mask

protects others from a virus.

This one doesn’t seem to catch on;

it lacks that outrage,

that suggestion of defiance,

the glamour of one in the crowd,

independent insight,

a beacon in a world of lies.

But facts, on the whole, are just prose

in a world seeking

more intoxicating rhythms.

4 thoughts on “Fact

  1. I think I didn’t just like it because this disconnect also baffles me. This piece seems very cleverly put together. I’m trying very hard to be unbiased here, but it is just so hard! I totally agree with the subject matter and really liked how succinctly you said it.

    Like

    • Yes – the wording of the first verse was on a placard I saw on social media, and I was annoyed! As a result this is not so much a poem as a whine! I should ideally have gone on to explore how so many people can believe such nonsense – does it arise from a breakdown of social institutions like trade unions, churches etc, the reduced experience of inter dependence as people live more as individuals connected only through media?

      Like

Leave a comment